*  1985 (Bad Reichenhall / GER)

The German artist Judith Grassl balances between sharpness and ambiguity in her artistic work. In her paintings she creates a new reality that seems like distant scraps of memory, difficult to grasp but familiar.

Grassl completed her training at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich (2008 - 2016), followed by various artist residencies in Europe, such as Linz (A) and Pomorle (BRG).

In her painting, Judith Grassl moves between virtual and physical space and, in the meantime, examines the various aggregate states of the visual material. Usually empty rooms are transformed into stages on which different image fragments meet - similar to props left behind on a film set.

The creation process of her painting is close to the principle of the collage, whereby several levels are created in the picture, which mutually break and come together again. The principle of collage makes it possible to create a multitude of dimensions in the pictures, to parallelize different perspectives and to create a new connection between the levels.

The title "Gifts", the new series of works, refers to visual material that has been modified over time and as a fragment from the past still exists in the present. She is particularly fascinated by objects such as grave goods that move back and forth between the past, present and future. They were settled for a future in the hereafter or are intended to provide for a deceased person in the present.

Judith Grassl lives and works in Munich (D).

Portrait_Judith Grassl_akt.jpg

*  1985 (Bad Reichenhall / D)

 

Die deutsche Künstlerin Judith Grassl balanciert in Ihrem künstlerischen Schaffen zwischen Schärfe und Mehrdeutigkeit. In ihrer Malerei schafft sie eine neue Realität, die uns wie entfernte Erinnerungsfetzen, schwer greifbar und dennoch vertraut, vorkommen.

 

Ihre Ausbildung absolvierte Grassl an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München (2008 – 2016), gefolgt von verschiedenen Künstlerresidenzen in Europa, wie Linz (A) und Pomorle (BRG).

 

Judith Grassl bewegt sich bei ihrer Malerei zwischen dem virtuellen und dem körperlichen Raum und untersucht währenddessen die verschiedenen Aggregatszustände des visuellen Materials. Meist verwandeln sich menschenleere Räume dadurch zu Bühnen, auf denen sich verschiedene Bildfragmente begegnen – ähnlich wie zurückgebliebene Requisiten an einem Filmset.

 

Der Entstehungsprozess ihrer Malerei liegt dem Prinzip der Collage nahe, wodurch im Bild mehrere Ebenen erzeugt werden, die sich gegenseitig brechen und sich wieder zusammenfügen. Das Prinzip der Collage ermöglicht es, in den Bildern eine Vielzahl von Dimensionen zu erstellen, verschiedene Perspektiven zu parallelisieren und eine neue Verbindung zwischen den Ebenen herzustellen.

 

Der Titel „Gifts“ (z. Dt. Geschenke), der neuen Werkreihe, bezieht sich auf visuelles Material, dass im Laufe der Zeit modifiziert wurde und als Fragment aus der Vergangenheit in der Gegenwart immer noch Bestand hat. Dabei ist sie vor allem von Objekten wie Grabbeigaben, fasziniert, die sich zwischen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft hin und her bewegen. Sie wurden für eine Zukunft im Jenseits beigelegt oder sollen dazu dienen eine bereits verstorbene Person in der Gegenwart zu versorgen.

 

Judith Grassl lebt und arbeitet in München (D).

Portrait_Judith Grassl_akt.jpg