Get detailed insights into the work of artists from KALI Gallery Lucerne at Paranoia Store Lucerne (Löwengraben 2, 6004 Lucerne).  The staircase of the carefully curated fashion store offers the exhibition space for pop up exhibitions in a unique environment.
We are looking forward to your visit.

Bildschirmfoto 2021-10-22 um 15.33.44.png
Shannon_Zwicker_Tenderness_2022.jpg

NOW ON VIEW
SHANNON ZWICKER

The works of Shannon Zwicker (*1992, lives and works in Zurich and Lucerne) tell of sensuality and touch. The artist deals with current debates about body normativity, gender, pop culture, and feminism, and in her visual language she tests alternative forms of the representability of bodies. Questions about the visibility and representation of precisely those bodies that do not conform to common ideals play an essential role. In addition to the forms and colors used, the titles of the works, which often refer to emotional states (Daydreaming) or specifically to the body (Tickeling tongue), provide clues for reading Zwicker's works in this direction. They underscore Zwicker's lustful approach to painting and drawing.

 

For the exhibition "At night I tell myself the sweetest stories," Zwicker has assembled a selection of watercolors that are works and studies in equal measure. They serve her as a field of experimentation and as a resting place from which the artist draws security for her work, which, in addition to the small-format watercolors, also includes large-format works. While a certain distance is involved in the creation of the large paintings - as the artist physically steps back from the canvas - proximity and intimacy play an important role in the watercolors.

 

Shannon Zwicker (*1992) grew up in Igis (GR), she studied Art & Mediation at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences & Arts, in 2013 she spent a semester at the Bremen University of the Arts in the painting class. In 2022 Shannon Zwicker finished her studies in the Master Fine Arts at the Zurich University of the Arts.

She has been represented nationally in various group exhibitions including the Bündner Kunstmuseum, Jung Kunst in Winterthur & Atelier Herrmann Haller in Zurich. In spring 2019, Shannon Zwicker spent a three-month studio residency in Genoa, by the city of Lucerne.

KALI LAB, ist eine Zusammenarbeit von KALI Gallery und dem Modegeschäft PARANOIA, das jungen KünstlerInnen eine innovative Ausstellungsfläche für zeitgenössische Kunst bietet. Ziel ist es dynamische Kontexte, aus Kunst und Gesellschaft zu reflektieren, und dabei die Betrachter in einer ungewöhnlichen Ausstellungssituation  anzusprechen.

KALI LAB befindet sich seit 2021 im PARANOIA Store, Löwengraben 2. 6004 Luzern.

Bildschirmfoto 2021-10-22 um 15.33.44.png
Shannon_Zwicker_Tenderness_2022.jpg

AKTUELL
SHANNON ZWICKER

Die Arbeiten von Shannon Zwicker (*1992, lebt und arbeitet in Zürich und Luzern) erzählen von Sinnlichkeit und Berührung. Die Künstlerin beschäftigt sich mit aktuellen Debatten über Körpernormativität, Geschlecht, Popkultur und Feminismus und erprobt in ihrer Bildsprache alternative Formen der Darstellbarkeit von Körpern. Dabei spielen Fragen zur Sichtbarkeit und zur Repräsentation von gerade jenen Körpern, die den gängigen Idealen nicht entsprechen, eine wesentliche Rolle. Hinweise für die Lektüre von Zwickers Werken in diese Richtung liefern neben den Formen und verwendeten Farben ebenfalls die Titel der Arbeiten, die häufig auf emotionale Zustände (Daydreaming) oder konkret den Körper hinweisen (Tickeling tongue). Sie unterstreichen Zwickers lustvollen Umgang mit der Malerei und Zeichnung.

Für die Ausstellung «At night I tell myself the sweetest stories» hat Zwicker eine Auswahl von Aquarellen zusammengestellt, die Werke und Studien gleichermassen sind. Sie dienen ihr als Experimentierfeld und als Ruhepol, aus dem die Künstlerin Sicherheit für ihre Arbeit schöpft, die neben den kleinformatigen Aquarellen auch grossformatige Arbeiten umfasst. Während bei der Entstehung der grossen Bilder eine gewisse Distanz involviert ist – indem die Künstlerin physisch von der Leinwand zurücktritt – spielen bei den Aquarellen Nähe und Intimität eine wichtige Rolle.

 

Shannon Zwicker (*1992) ist in Igis (GR) aufgewachsen, an der Hochschule Luzern -Design & Kunst studierte sie Kunst & Vermittlung, 2013 verbrachte sie ein Semester an der Hochschule für Künste Bremen in der Klasse für Malerei. 2022 beendete Shannon Zwicker ihr Studium im Master Fine Arts an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste.

Sie ist national in verschiedenen Gruppenausstellungen vertreten, u.a. im Bündner Kunstmuseum, der Jung Kunst in Winterthur & dem Atelier Herrmann Haller in Zürich. Im Frühling 2019 verbrachte Shannon Zwicker einen dreimonatigen Atelierauftenhalt in Genua, gesprochen von der Stadt Luzern.