*1966, Zürich (ZÜ/CH)

Mark Divo is a concept artist and curator of the Dada tradition who grew up in Zurich and who has developed innovative concepts for inhabiting abandoned spaces.

Divo was behind the liveliest and most influential squatter scenes of the past two decades in Switzerland and elsewhere; In the early 1990s, Divo founded the first group behind Berlin's legendary center for alternative art, Tacheles, Squatted Houses, and later created temporary museums in Zurich and Copenhagen.

He painted large murals in Vienna, Košice or Prague and spread the idea of ​​solidarity and non-solidarity - commercial culture accessible to everyone. In 2002 Divo organized the occupation of Cabaret Voltaire, the cradle of the Dada movement, to protest the proposed closure. This gave him even greater recognition as a driving force for community-oriented cultural events.

Mark Divo has lived in the Czech Republic since 2005 and takes his valuable rubbish collection with him and exhibits his "inhabited sculpture" in the Palac Kinskych gallery at the invitation of the second Prague Biennale. Since then, he has organized various large exhibitions (process festival in Pražská tržnice, Utopia at the Abyss art exhibition in Veletržní palác, etc.), founded a DIVO institute in Kolín, and opened The Solution salon in Prague district. At the beginning of 2016 he started his latest project, a series of cultural events entitled They Met in Kolín, which will take place at the DIVO Institute at regular intervals throughout the year.

Mark Divo lives and works in Prague, Kolin (CZ) and Zurich (CH).

© KALI Gallery 2021

249dcbf81da3bef0f4ee82cbecda9326.png
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

* 1966, Zürich (ZÜ/CH)

 

Mark Divo ist ein in Zürich aufgewachsener Konzeptkünstler und Kurator der Dada-Tradition, der innovative Konzepte entwickelt hat, um verlassene Räume zu bewohnen.

 

Divo stand hinter den lebhaftesten und einflussreichsten Besetzer Szenen der letzten zwei Jahrzehnte in der Schweiz und anderswo; Divo gründete Anfang der neunziger Jahre die erste Gruppe hinter Berlins legendärem Zentrum für alternative Kunst, Tacheles, besetzte Häuser und schuf später temporäre Museen in Zürich oder Kopenhagen.

 

Er malte große Wandgemälde in Wien, Košice oder Prag und verbreitete die Idee von Solidarität und Nicht-Solidarität - Handelskultur für jedermann zugänglich. Im Jahr 2002 organisierte Divo die Besetzung von Cabaret Voltaire, der Wiege der Dada-Bewegung, um gegen die geplante Schließung zu protestieren. Dies gab ihm eine noch größere Anerkennung als treibende Kraft für gemeinschaftsorientierte kulturelle Ereignisse.

 

Seit 2005 lebt Mark Divo in der Tschechische Republik und nimmt seine wertvolle Müllsammlung mit und stellt auf Einladung der zweiten Prager Biennale seine „bewohnte Skulptur“ in der Galerie Palac Kinskych aus. Seitdem hat er verschiedene große Ausstellungen organisiert (Prozessfestival in Pražská tržnice, Utopia auf der Abyss-Kunstausstellung in Veletržní palác, etc.), ein DIVO-Institut in Kolín gegründet und den The Solution-Salon in Prag eröffnet Bezirk. Anfang 2016 startete er sein jüngstes Projekt, eine Reihe von kulturellen Veranstaltungen mit dem Titel They Met in Kolín, die das ganze Jahr über in regelmäßigen Abständen am DIVO-Institut stattfinden werden.

 

Mark Divo lebt und arbeitet in Prag, Kolin (CZ) und Zürich (CH).

Mark Divo @KALI Gallery