*  1985 Morges (VD/CH)

Maya Rochat is an internationally known Swiss artist who combines photography, painting, video, performance and installation in her artistic work. Starting from the exhibition location, she creates spectacular room installations that have a direct, emotional effect on the viewer.

After Rochat completed her bachelor's degree in photography with the Prix de l'ECAL while studying at ECAL in Lausanne and HFBK in Hamburg, she finished her master's degree in 2012 at HEAD in Geneva. Numerous exhibitions followed in Geneva, Basel, Bern, Paris, Amsterdam, Singapore, London and Tokyo, among others at the Kunsthaus Langenthal, Palais de Tokyo and the Tate Modern London. ProHelvetia awards Rochat prizes in 2014, 2015 and 2017, as well as the Prix Mobilière in 2019.

Maya Rochat's artistic work is shaped by color, shape and space. Starting with photography, which she distorts, cuts, paints and reconstructs, the artist moves towards painting. Pictures of nature and people from your environment form the motif, and her choice of materials, such as plastic, should critically reflect social issues and stimulate the viewer to think.

Maya Rochat lives and works in Lausanne (CH).

Maurine_Tric-0948.jpg

*  1985 Morges (VD/CH)

 

Maya Rochat ist eine international bekannte Schweizer Künstlerin, die in ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit Fotografie, Malerei, Video, Performance und Installation verbindet. Ausgehend vom Ausstellungsort schafft sie spektakuläre Rauminstallationen die eine direkte, emotionale Wirkung beim Betrachter hervorrufen.

 

Nachdem Rochat ihren Bachelor in Fotographie, während des Studiums an der ECAL in Lausanne und der HFBK in Hamburg, mit dem Prix de l´ECAL abschliesst, beendet sie das Master Studium 2012 an der HEAD in Genf. Zahlreiche Ausstellungen folgen unter anderem in Genf, Basel, Bern, Paris, Amsterdam, Singapur, London und Tokyo unter anderem im Kunsthaus Langenthal, Palais de Tokyo und im Tate Modern London. Durch ProHelvetia werden Rochat 2014, 2015 und 2017 Preise verliehen, sowie 2019 der Prix Mobilière. 

 

            Das künstlerische Schaffen von Maya Rochat ist geprägt von Farbe, Form und Raum. Ausgehend von der Fotografie, die sie verzerrt, zerschneidet, bemalt und rekonstruiert, bewegt sich die Künstlerin zur Malerei hin. Naturaufnahmen und Menschen aus Ihrer Umgebung bilden das Motiv, und auch Ihre Materialwahl wie z.B. Plastik, sollen gesellschaftliche Themen kritisch reflektieren und den Betrachter zum Nachdenken anregen.

 

Maya Rochat lebt und arbeitet in Lausanne (CH).

© KALI Gallery 2021

249dcbf81da3bef0f4ee82cbecda9326.png
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram