*  1949 Niedergösgen (SO/CH)

Rolf Winnewisser is certainly one of the most influential and well-known artists of his generation in Switzerland. The “image researcher” is dedicated to the media of drawing, printmaking, watercolor and painting, as well as object and installation, to which he occasionally also adds further formulations in the field of language.

Rolf Winnewisser attended the school for design in Lucerne, which he graduated as a graphic designer in 1971. From 1972-74 he worked as a draftsman as part of a literacy project in Niger. His participation in documenta 5, 1972 in Kassel, is of great importance. He has been working as a freelance artist since 1974. At an early age, he was able to receive the Swiss Federal Art Scholarship three times, the Kiefer-Hablitzel scholarship and in 1989 the Manor Art Prize Lucerne. This is followed by exhibitions in important institutions in Switzerland and abroad and various teaching assignments at the School of Design and the ETH Zurich. From 1989-1995 he stayed in Paris. In 2006 the artist was honored with the renowned Prix Meret Oppenheim for his complex work.

Through his artistic work, a cosmos has emerged over the past 30 years, which repeatedly deals with aesthetic questions, the importance of which has steadily grown in our world saturated with images. This cosmos describes the diversity of the world, which he explores by collecting, reading and traveling, and which he continuously develops further by means of associations, networks and chains.

In addition to printing techniques and drawings, watercolors are a constant technique in the artist's work. In the most recent works, this comes to the fore so much that even large formats appear like huge watercolors due to the glazed application of paint and the interlacing of the images like multiple exposures.

Rolf Winnewisser lives and works in Ennetbaden (AG / CH).

Rolf Winnewisser_Portrait.jpg

*  1949 Niedergösgen (SO/CH)

 

Rolf Winnewisser zählt mit Sicherheit zu den prägendsten und bekanntesten Künstlern seiner  Generation in der Schweiz. Der „Bildforscher“ widmet sich den Medien Zeichnung, Druckgrafik, Aquarell und Malerei, sowie Objekt und Installation, zu denen er zuweilen auch weiterführende Formulierungen im Bereich der Sprache hinzufügt.

 

Rolf Winnewisser besucht die Schule für Gestaltung in Luzern, die er 1971 als Grafiker abschliesst. Von 1972-74 arbeitet er als Zeichner im Rahmen eines Alphabetisierungsprojektes im Niger. Von grosser Bedeutung ist seine Teilnahme an der documenta 5, 1972 in Kassel. Seit 1974 arbeitet er als freischaffender Künstler. Bereits früh darf er dreimal das Eidgenössische Kunststipendium entgegennehmen, das Kiefer-Hablitzel-Stipendium sowie 1989 den Manor Kunstpreis Luzern. Es folgen Ausstellungen in wichtigen Institutionen in der Schweiz und im Ausland und diverse Lehraufträge an der Schule für Gestaltung und der ETH Zürich. Von 1989-1995 hält er sich in Paris auf. 2006 wird der Künstler für sein komplexes Werk mit dem renommierten Prix Meret Oppenheim geehrt.

 

Durch sein künstlerisches Schaffen ist in den vergangenen 30 Jahren ein Kosmos entstanden, der sich immer wieder mit ästhetischen Fragen auseinandersetzt, deren Bedeutung in unserer Bilder gesättigten Welt stetig gewachsen ist.  Dieser Kosmos beschreibt die Vielfältigkeit der Welt, die er sammelnd, lesend und reisend erkundet und mittels Assoziationen, Vernetzungen und Verkettungen stetig weiterentwickelt.

 

Neben Drucktechniken und Zeichnungen, ist das Aquarellieren eine konstante Technik im Schaffen des Künstlers. In den jüngsten Arbeiten tritt diese soweit in den Vordergrund, dass auch grosse Formate durch den lasierenden Farbauftrag wie riesige Aquarelle und die Bildverschachtelungen wie Mehrfachbelichtung erscheinen.

Rolf Winnewisser lebt  und arbeitet in Ennetbaden (AG/CH).

© KALI Gallery 2021

249dcbf81da3bef0f4ee82cbecda9326.png
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram